The Amazing Incredible You

If you’ve been following my blog, you may have noticed that I’ve been gone for a few weeks.  No – it wasn’t a vacation.  More like a test of faith.  I’ve just come back from open heart surgery.  I was born with a heart disease, so this is just a part of a life-long process.  But I won’t lie.  It was one of my biggest mental, spiritual and physical challenges yet.  Amazingly, the physical part hasn’t been that bad.

While I can’t say that I was glad to have surgery, I have been learning so much from the entire process.  I thought that some of these lessons were worth sharing:

1-      We’re stronger than we think we are – Our bodies, minds and spirits are incredibly resilient.  The day after surgery, I had many of the tubes out and was walking, talking and laughing.  Even the surgeon commented on how well I looked.  I surprised myself!

2-      People love us more than we know – I have been overwhelmed by all the friends and acquaintances that have called, visited and prayed with me.  I expected close friends and family to be concerned, but nothing could have prepared me for the overwhelming amount of generosity and love I’ve received.

3-      No matter how bad it seems, it will pass and you will survive with God’s grace – For me the worst part of the surgery was the preparation.  The not knowing and trying to get my mind prepared for what was to come was horrible.  But I got through it, and I’m here.  I realize that God’s grace helped me overcome what seemed impossible.

4-      Laughter is essential for healing  – While in ICU, I had one of my sisters with me and my husband.  They had me laughing so hard that I cried.  I noticed that with each laugh, things just seemed a little better and I felt a little stronger.  It’s as if my laughter spoke to my soul and said “C’mon, girl.  You can do this!”

5-      Take care of yourself, and the world will take care of itself – Before heading off to get my heart fixed, I was so preoccupied with everything.  I was running around frantically tying up loose ends for my job.  I was creating schedules and making checklists for my daughter.  Every night was a sleepless night with nightmares about things not getting done.   I was doing everything except taking the time to make sure that I was okay.  And guess what – while I was in the hospital, the world went on.  Problems got solved and things got done – and nobody needed me to do any of it. That’s a lesson that I will definitely remember!

Ladies, I’m not special.  We all get knocked off our feet by the winds of life.  Maybe it’s a surgery.  Maybe it’s a divorce, the death of a child or a lay off at work.  Whatever it is, I’m here to tell you that you will get through it.  Life will go on.  You will smile again, and share your story so that others will be inspired.  We’re all amazing, and life’s tests are just an opportunity to show what we’re made of.

I’d love to hear from you.

How has life knocked you for a loop and what lessons did you learn?

8 thoughts on “The Amazing Incredible You

  1. Oh my Lord. Yolanda you have made me cry. I am going through some tough times and reading this, specially the part that reads ” No matter how bad it seems, it will pass and you will survive with God’s grace ” gives me so much needed hope. You are so strong and God has blessed you in so many ways, it was a given that you would come out of this stronger. I am so glad all went well and that you have so much love an support. God is so good to us. Thank you so much for sharing your life lessons. This one I will take to heart. You have inspired me today. Stay strong.

    • You stay strong too, Marta! You are stronger than you know. And when you get through this all, you’ll look back and smile at God’s incredible grace! Thank you for reading the post — you made my day!

  2. Yolanda, it is such a joy to read your post because that means you’re getting stronger each day. You’re so right the things we deem as important are really not…..the world will keep revolving regardless of what and where we are……It’s a life lesson, we all need to learn especially. I loose sleep just thinking of all the things i have to do; is it really worth it? No, because the world will reset itself…..Love ya lady and i’l so happy to see you’re growing in your faith and recovering nicely

  3. I cried reading this post…your story is inspiring!!! You hit the nail on the head..”God’s grace” is so amazing. Life altering things are just around the corner prepared or not…for me it was divorce. I was happy in love & married to my highschool sweetheart for 10 yrs (whom I had known since 14yrs old)…ovenight (it seemed) that things were weird between us; I found out shortly after the change there was another woman. The worst part about my discovery was his confession that he loved me, BUT he wasn’t in love with me & he hadn’t been happy in YEARS! Crushed is an understatement as to how I felt. I was still trying to make things work, but it was just me trying…we separated a month later & he moved on with her. I was so in love & thought he was too…we had a fantasy life & everything seemed perfect so I never saw or felt that blow coming. When I looked in the mirror after his confession, I hated who I saw…I’d let myself go being happy & in love. I have since completely changed things around thanks 2 family & complete strangers that helped me to realize my worth. I am happy, fit & have been able to help others going through similar life altering things…I too am stronger than I ever thought I was :).

  4. Girl Yolanda you are ‘the bomb mom!’ You can do it all! But I’m glad you realized that we have to take time to look after ourselves. You are such an inspiration and I applaud you! And remember: we gat you!

Leave a Reply

