Strong

I’m internationally known as a cry-baby.  Sad news – I cry.  Happy news – I cry.  Scared – Oh Lord, here come the tears.  Over the years, I’m sure that I’ve produced enough tears to irrigate a large farm.

Right now, I’m facing some medical challenges that require a pretty major surgery.  Can you guess my reaction?  You’re a fast learner, girl 🙂 .   I haven’t been surprised by my own tears, but what has surprised me is how many people have called me strong over the last several weeks despite me crying a river on their shoulders.  Me, the original cry-baby?  Strong?? I’ve heard the phrase “You will be okay because you’re a strong woman” so many times that I have to sit back and wonder what they mean.

But when I think about it, I am strong.  I cry, but I don’t give up.  I’m often saddened, but never defeated.  And despite it all, I manage to some how pull it together daily and give life my best.  I even have the strength to love those around me instead of wallowing in self-pity.  By God’s grace, I am strong.

But I’m no different from every other woman, wife, mother, sister, daughter that I’ve ever met.  I believe that God made women with a unique strength.  The strength to bend over and over again without breaking is built into us women.

So I’m here to tell you my sister, “You are strong.  You will be okay because you are a strong woman.”  I know your strength because I know my own.

Do you believe in your strength?  I do.

6 thoughts on “Strong

  1. Prayers for you. I know God is a healer and YOU are a true and living testimony. Thank you for this affirmation.

  2. Yes I believe I am strong because my life is not easy and has been full of heartaches and I have prevailed. Our eyes need to be washed once in a while by our tears so we can see life in a clearer view again.

    Stay strong! Cry all you want.

    • I’ve always thought of you as a strong person, Marta. You exude that quiet, confidence strength. And yes — I will continue to cry if I need to knowing ultimately that everything will be okay.

  3. Hey bahamamommyinc!
    This article truly inspired me this morning. I read a poem the other day, don’t know the author, but I know for sure it touched me, so I would like to share it with you….“A strong woman is one who feels deeply and loves fiercely. Her tears flow just as abundantly as her laughter. A strong woman is both soft and powerful. She is both Practical and Spiritual. A strong woman in her essence is a gift to all the world.” A friend saw me at my worst the other night, and when they saw me again the next morning, I was able to give a smile….they wondered how, my words were…“a strong woman is one who is able to smile in the morning like she wasn’t crying last night….. :-)” So yes bahamamommyinc…WE ARE STRONG! Even though the tears flow. And you said it so perfectly….“But when I think about it, I am strong. I cry, but I don’t give up. I’m often saddened, but never defeated. And despite it all, I manage to somehow pull it together daily and give life my best…..”
    …and by His stripes we are healed. (Isaiah 53:5)

    • Asenath — I love this poem! So glad you shared it. And I draw strength from knowing that I’m not the only woman going through the ups and downs of life. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

